October & April by The Rasmus featuring Anette Olzen

Posted: December 7, 2015 in Anette Olzon, Band, Finland, HIM, Melinda Anderson, Music, Music Video, October & April, The Rasmus, Videos
Tags: , ,

I have been real sick lately. I guess that’s what happens during Winter when your thyroid isn’t working. The season turns into one giant ball of coughing, sneezing, hacking, and gagging.  However, this means I also get to catch up on my music explorations.

I was checking out some older videos of Apocalyptica when I found their song Bittersweet featuring Ville Valeo and Lauri Ylonen. Talk about mind blown away with two amazing voices, I’ll share this video later.

In fact, I was so impressed with both male vocalists that I started doing some research. Mainly, who the hell are these guys and why the hell haven’t I heard of them.

Turns out Ville Valeo is the lead singer for HIM, a band I am somewhat familiar with because of one of my sons. Lauri Ylonen is a different matter. He is the frontman for The Rasmus who I have never ever heard of.

Both bands are from Finland, go figure. Now, I realize that I live in a small town that only has one local radio station. There are other radio stations from other towns but I can only get them in my car. My car has Sirius and I have specific channels that I listen too. I have no idea what channel The Rasmus would get played on.  And, don’t even get me started on the video stations like MTV.

I guess I’m a little disappointed in a music industry that would rather shove Miley Cyrus down my throat then play some music with heart.

I guess what I’m saying is I want a music revolution. One that includes a TV station or radio station that plays music from around the world with no specific labels or classifications. Hell why not let the Video Jockeys, VJ’s, and Disc Jockey’s, DJ’s, actually pick the music instead of the station only playing what sells.

 

 

Leave a comment